On April 24th the Long Island Rail Road celebrated its 175th birthday in the Atrium of the Jamaica Control Center. LIRRCC Chair, Gerry Bringmann, PCAC Executive Director Bill Henderson and Associate Director Jan Wells attended the festivities. LIRR President Helena Williams welcomed the many dignitaries who were also present, including MTA CEO Lee Sander and Chairman of the MTA Board Dale Hemmerdinger.
Earlier in the week Gerry, Bill and Jan attended the opening of “The Route of the Dashing Commuter: The Long Island Rail Road at 175” exhibit at the New York Transit Museum in Brooklyn. Bill Guild, Chair of the PCAC, also joined them.
Incorporated in 1834, the Long Island Railroad, is the oldest rail road in the United States still operating under its original name. Initially built to be a shortcut to Boston, it has adapted to the ever-changing needs of its customers and survived competition, takeovers, hard times and bankruptcy. Historic and contemporary photographs, maps, illustrations, and objects on loan and from the museum’s collection tell the fascinating story of the railroad and how it contributed to the development of Long Island. The exhibit runs until September 13, 2009.